My Little Camogli Kitchen

Arriving in the little fishing village of Camogli and our rented apartment for the week, I was already determined to make the most of the abundance of local fresh ingredients and produce and cook as much as possible so we could eat on one of our three terraces (including one on the roof).

The reviews of our lovely flat had said the kitchen was small but people ‘managed’.  Well, firstly, granted it was small but certainly not non-functional (in fact it was well appointed) and secondly I have ‘managed’ to produce whole stuffed sea-bass and beef bourguignon on a camping stove before so I wasn’t put off. Plus my whole ethos is about making a restaurant at home, regardless of your time or space, so it was full steam ahead.

No recipes on this post and not amazing pictures (especially when him indoors was entrusted with the camera) but I cook for Mr D’s pleasure and I’m no food stylist, all I really want is to share the wonderful cooking experience I had in Camogli with my “cult” readership…

Ingredients shopping was a dream.  I went from the fruttivendolo to the macelleria, from the pasticceria, to the panifico, on to the pescaria and a wonderful enoteca.  Making friends everywhere, having my Italian corrected at every stop, I procured the most wonderful local produce and ate some of the best food I’ve ever had.

What we ate:

Camogliesi a rhum – from wonderful bakeries, truffle, light sponge and a serious kick of rum.

Focaccia col formaggio – traditional thin sheets of focaccia filled with oozy cheese, great hot or cold and a world away from the doughy nonsense offered in the U.K.

Pasta – freshly made gnocchi and ravioli, watching the ladies make hundreds of little ravioli, tortellini, capaletti and gnocchi by hand and with tremendous skill and speed was a sight to behold.

Gelato – my personal favourite was amarena.

Fish – not for me but Mr D took full advantage of the local catch.

Vino – technically not food but it made up one (or more) of our five a day and always served with a plate of loveliness such as focaccia, salami, bruschetta, formaggi, olives and more. All enjoyed by the harbour – wine, food, view.

But, my charming little Camogli kitchen called so…

What I cooked (no books or internet to help!):

Breakfasts – bresaola, carpaccio, bruschetta, burrata, mozzarella, focaccia, pomodori, zucchini, porcini omelette, breakfasts of champions basically.

Pasta – gnocchi con pomodori, con gremolata, con fungi, con spigola…endless options.

Branzino all’acqua pazza – or fish in crazy water.  A huge branzino was baked in the oven with cherry tomatoes, parsley and white wine and served with fresh spaghetti tossed in the sauce.  Sadly I realised too late there was a platter large enough to house the fishy beast in the utility room so the picture shows it slightly shoehorned but at least it was rustic.

Carne cruda all’albese – beautiful filetto di manzo from the butcher with the most amazing lemon, sweet white onion (cipollina), huge purple garlic, fresh egg yolk and porcini, served with bread and watercress.

Zuppe di fagiolini – a veggie dish for once, just beautiful borlotti beans cooked in garlic, onion, tomato, parsley and oregano, some white wine, salt and pepper and water.  No stock needed and a sprinkle of Parmesan and basil to finish.

Prawns – the gamberi at the fishmongers were so fresh I didn’t need to mess with them. Griddled with parsley, lemon and garlic then served up with bread and a bowl for the shells so Mr D could get stuck in.

All eaten anywhere we could fashion a table. We had picnics on the roof, the beach and a car park.  In a village square, on terraces, balconies and even on the street.  Because my restaurant at home is portable, I can take it anywhere.

Below is a gallery of my Camogli cooking experience – I hope it shows that the size of your imagination is more important than the size of your kitchen.

(PS. I promise my blogging will improve, call this post rustic!)

 

Leave a comment